Yes on Proposition 8 – Another Reason


Yes on Prop 8

A quote from TownHall.com

“…changing the definition of marriage implies that marriage is just a matter of cultural definition. If so, then “marriage” is nothing in particular and can be restructured at the whim of the people. It’s privileges, protections, responsibilities, and moral obligations are all up for grabs. Even as I write, there are cases wending their way through courts in Utah challenging prohibitions on polygamy. Why not, if “marriage” is just a social construction?”

Vote yes on Proposition 8, and halt the moral regress.

5 Responses to Yes on Proposition 8 – Another Reason

  1. This whole thing has NOTHING to do with rights and freedoms. It’s sole purpose is to get revenge on the Judeo-Christian culture. If society degenerates, what does that matter to them?

    http://dysfunctionalparrot.wordpress.com/2008/10/27/proposition-8-solution-for-everyone/

  2. Rick says:

    “Even as I write, there are cases winding their way through courts in Utah challenging prohibitions on polygamy. Why not, if “marriage” is just a social construction?”

    Sure… I agree… why not? It beats having to have a leader who is advocating that position assasinated and ultimately driven from the country just so one can freely express their form of marriage without the witch hunt or fear of harm by the tyrany of the majority mob mentality… right? Sound familiar? Prop 8 is a legal Navoo deja vu without having to light the torches.

  3. Hazumu Osaragi says:

    Hi;

    May I interject a real life situation. I’d like to hear your guidance on this.

    My mother was given a drug to take to lessen the chance of miscarriage and promote healthy babies — that’s what the doctor told her. The drug is Diethylstilbestrol, or DES. In male fetuses, it feminizes the brains of one in five of us ‘DES sons’.

    I finally came to terms with this, and realized my choice was transition or die. So, I’m now a male-to-female transsexual who’s had ‘the operation.’ I’ve changed all my legal paperwork and although I still have a male body with XY chromosomes, it has been retrofitted to approximate female anatomy, which is good because if I ever end up in an accident, there will be no ’surprise’ for the first responders.

    I ‘pass’ very well, thank you. Only rarely do strangers figure out I was not born this way. Most people have to be told, by me, or, more often, by someone else who just has to ‘drop the bomb.’

    All my paperwork has been changed. Legally, I’m female. But I have to find an OB/GYN who can check my prostate during my yearly pelvic exam (yearly mammograms don’t need that level of disclosure.)

    So my question to you is — knowing what you know now about me, and assuming for the moment you get absolute power to label me and make determinations on where I can and can’t go —

    -Do I marry a man? Or do I marry a woman?

    -Which restroom and changing facility do you feel I, a male-to-female transsexual, should use when in public spaces?

    -Am I immoral?

    -Am I a paedophile?

    -Am I tearing down western society in support of a deviant agenda?

    -Am I selfish?

    I eagerly await your responses;

    Hazumu Osaragi

  4. abby says:

    The ENTIRE COUNTRY OF FRANCE PROHIBITS SAME SEX MARRIAGE!!

    Why? They based their decision on scientific research that states it isn’t beneficial to France’s children. Get the FACTS before you vote. Please. For America’s children.

    Go here: http://www.lifesitenews.com/ldn/2006_docs/Francesummary.pdf

  5. nathanwells says:

    First off Hazumu,
    Thanks for taking time to write. Obviously this is a matter of great concern and I appreciate you being willing to talk openly about your thoughts.

    But, that being said – I do not want you to feel that I have a hatred or something of the like towards you or others who are gay. I do not, nor do I hate thieves, or liars – because I am the same as you, a sinner. You do not believe that homosexuality is a sin – but you do so based only on your own authority. My authority is not my own, but I submit to the authority of the Bible, which I believe to be God’s revealed word. God has clearly stated that homosexuality is a sin, it is immoral on the same line as other sins,
    “Or do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived; neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor effeminate, nor homosexuals, nor thieves, nor the covetous, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor swindlers, will inherit the kingdom of God.” (1 Corinthians 6:9-10)

    And before you say the Bible condemns you – it does, and yet there is hope, for:
    “Such were some of you; but you were washed, but you were sanctified, but you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and in the Spirit of our God.” (1 Corinthians 6:11)

    So that is the basis for my belief that homosexuality is wrong. It is not based on society, or on what is “normal” but rather on an outside absolute authority – the God of the Bible.

    But you wrote about “DES sons” saying that this medical condition is the cause for your current orientation.

    But that has never been proven scientifically. And it is in direct contradiction to the Word of God.

    I cite the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention website ( http://www.cdc.gov/des/consumers/research/recent_psychosexual.html )
    “Researchers mailed questionnaires to these DES Daughters and Sons to obtain information about marital status, sexual behavior, and handedness. Responses indicated that DES neither influenced sexual behavior nor resulted in an increased likelihood of homosexual contact.”

    So what you have said has not been proven, in fact research says just the opposite of what you claimed.

    The Bible states clearly that you are in sin, and are in need of a Savior (as we all are).

    “the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 6:23)

    Believe in Jesus and your sins can be forgiven, and you can then have the power to live in accordance with God’s will.

    “if you confess with your mouth Jesus as Lord, and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved; for with the heart a person believes, resulting in righteousness, and with the mouth he confesses, resulting in salvation.” (Romans 10:9-10)

    Again, thank you for your comments Hazumu.

    Because He lives,
    Nathan

Leave a Reply

