Random Thoughts from Reading in Matthew


The Prophet Jeremiah“Woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! Because you build the tombs of the prophets and adorn the monuments of the righteous, and say, ‘If we had lived in the days of our fathers, we would not have been partakers with them in the blood of the prophets.'” (Matthew 23:29-30)

This verse reminded me how easy it is to think myself better than another – especially when reading history, or even reading the Old Testament or the New.  I read about Abraham and think, “man, what an idiot, lying about his wife when he knows God is on his side” or Jacob, that he was such a schemer.  Or when I read about the disciples and how it took them forever to trust Jesus, I think, “man, they sure were dense!”

But I should not think myself any better than them, for what am I?  There is nothing to boast of in salvation, in the knowledge of God, for it is from God, and granted by God freely to His chosen.  I am the foolish, the base thing of this world, I am the lowest of the low, and that is why God revealed Himself to me – not because I was great, or did some awesome deed.

Father, help me to keep my eyes on You, to confess my dependence on You everyday.  May I never boast of what I do, but Father, may I glorify and praise Your name at all times, regardless of my own situation.  Help me to be humble before you, and not to think more of myself than I ought.

Leave a Reply

