Random Thoughts from Reading Matthew


Pray!

“…what man is there among you who, if his son asks for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will he give him a serpent? If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask Him!” (Matthew 7:9-11)

This verse is profound. Oh how little I pray to my Father, who is the giver of good things! What more motivation do I need than this statement made by the Lord Himself, God in flesh? You see, I know God hears prayer, and I know that God gives good to those who ask Him, and yet, I do not live in light of that truth as I should. Oh to remember the goodness of God! To recognize His awesome sovereign power over all things, and His invitation for communion with Him through prayer! The Lord is so gracious to us, to me!

Father, how encouraging these words are. Oh that they should drive me to pursue a deeper passion for the good that You desire, and that I would learn to entreat You for that good more and more. I have seen the Your work in my life, in helping me learn how to pray, and in giving me a greater desire to pray more – and I look forward to growing even more as You continue, by Your faithfulness, to grant me grace.

One Response to Random Thoughts from Reading Matthew

  1. Lee says:

    Amen. Me, too.

Leave a Reply

