Random Thoughts from Reading Genesis


viper.jpgNow the serpent was more crafty than any beast of the field which the Lord God had made. And he said to the woman, “Indeed, has God said, ‘You shall not eat from any tree of the garden’?”” (Genesis 3:1)

This is a very familiar Bible story – but as I was reading it today, and through the conversation of a friend yesterday, it is a renewed reminder of the deceitfulness of sin.

We always question, I always question those things which are more than clear – God says don’t lie, don’t lust, but I say, “Well, this is different, not really what God meant when He said those things – God doesn’t really know what is best, for if He did, He would allow for this.”

God’s word is clear – and yet I question His goodness whenever I go against His written will. Do I really believe that God doesn’t have my best interest in mind? That He is withholding some good from me, by not allowing me certain things?  It is the same, age old tactic of the serpent.  “Has God said?”  But who am I to believe?

So the Lord commanded us to observe all these statutes, to fear the Lord our God for our good always and for our survival, as it is today.” (Deuteronomy 6:24)

All that the Lord commands is for our good – not so that He can rule over us, and laugh because He has cheated us out of so much fun, but rather that He has told us what is best, and the way we might be truly satisfied in Him.

May I be reminded that sin is deceitful, and may I be vigilant to fight for what is right, knowing that it is the Lord who is my good, and that He does not withhold anything that is good from His children.

One Response to Random Thoughts from Reading Genesis

  1. Lee says:

    Yes indeed – we’re good at rationalizing, aren’t we?

    I keep seeing reminders of Perelandra in everyone’s blogs these days… Have you read it? Here’s one of the passages that came to mind:

    “This man has said that the law against living on the Fixed Island is different from the other Laws, because it is not the same for all worlds and because we cannot see the goodness in it. And so far he says well. But then he says that it is thus different in order that you may disobey it. But there might be another reason.”
    “Say it, Piebald.”
    “I think He made one law of that kind in order that there might be obedience. In all these other matters what you call obeying Him is but doing what seems good in your own eyes also. Is love content with that? You do them, indeed, because they are His will, but not only because they are His will. Where can you taste the joy of obeying unless He bids you do something for which His bidding is the only reason? When we spoke last you said that if you told the beasts to walk on their heads, they would delight to do so. So I know that you understand well what I am saying.”

Leave a Reply

