“Not to us, not to us”


“Not to us, O Lord, not to us,
But to Your name give glory
Because of Your lovingkindness,
Because of Your truth.” (Psalm 115:1)

It’s raining today in LA, and as I was driving home from seminary I was thinking over some things I have been learning in the past couple of weeks, and thinking about this verse in the psalms. That there is nothing I can boast about, nothing at all, for my salvation is from God, everything that is good in me is of God, not of myself. But as I was thinking, I hit a patch of water on the road and my car hydroplaned for a moment, serving slightly towards the curb. My heart pounded, and afterwards I just though – how right and true it is, that no glory be given to me, for not only can I not claim my service to the Lord my own, but even my life, even my life is in God’s hands. I could be dead, and at any moment still I could die. May I remember this, and join in with the psalmist: “Not to us, O Lord, not to us, but to Your name give glory.”

Leave a Reply

