“Lustful Greed” in Prayer


I’m in the process of writing a paper for my Theology I class on “Does God Repent?” The subject really covers a large amount of Theology, and what one believes about the nature of God’s repentance reveals much about their own understanding of God. But as I was talking about the paper with a friend, we started talking about prayer, and I was reminded through the conversation how sometimes God gives us what we ask for, even though it might hurt us for a short while. Because it will ultimately result in our good-bringing us closer to God. As I studied and wrote last night I came across this quote and thought I would share it:

“There is a persistence in prayer and petition which is not an evidence of faith, but evidence of lustful greed. There is a perseverance in prayer which is not pious at all. It is possible that if we persist in asking for that which is not best, God may give it to us. It will be painful if this happens, but in giving us what we so desperately want, God disciplines us so that we learn to leave these things in His hands. In biblical terms, we must focus on seeking God first, and trust Him to add all those things He deems best for us (see Matthew 6:33). Let us be cautious that our requests to God are not demands. Let us learn from the Israelites of old so that we need not walk the path they had to walk.” – Bob Deffinbaugh , Th.M

It’s a good reminder, as I come before the Lord in prayer – that while I do have total access to His throne – the throne of grace – that still I must come before Him with humility of heart – asking, as Christ instructed, that His will would be done on earth as it is in heaven. May God grow me, may I learn to abide in His Word, in Christ, that I might pray and my will be joined to God’s in prayer, who does as He wills for His own good pleasure and glory, and because I am His child, resulting in great joy and satisfaction to me.

“You ask and do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, so that you may spend it on your pleasures…’God is opposed to the proud, but gives grace to the humble.’” (James 4:3a, 6a)

Leave a Reply

