Waiting on God


“For God alone my soul waits in silence; from him comes my salvation.” (Psalm 62:1)

I’ve been reading a book called “Waiting on God” by Andrew Murray. It has been very thought provoking and challenging. So often I find myself “disciplining” myself into godliness, thinking that in the discipline there is some sort of reward, or holiness. Rather than focusing on God and waiting on him, I focus on the “works” and therefore fall short of joy and find myself in a spiritual desert with no water to drink.

Murray writes:

“The great lack of our faith is that we do not know God. The answer to every complaint of feebleness and failure, the message to every congregation or convention seeking instruction on holiness, ought simply to be, What is the matter: Have you not God? If you really believe in God, He will make everything all right. God is willing and able by His Holy Spirit. Cease from expecting the least good from yourself, or the least help from anything there is in man. Just yield yourself unreservedly to God to work in you. He will do all for you.
How simple this looks! And yet, this is the gospel we so little know…If salvation truly comes from God and is entirely His work, just as our creation was, it follows that our first and highest duty is to wait on Him and to do that work which pleases Him. Waiting then becomes the only way to the experience of a full salvation – the only way to truly know God as the God of our salvation. All the difficulties which are brought forward, as keeping us back from full salvation, have their cause in this one thing: the defective knowledge and practice of waiting upon God.”

There is much to be considered, and much I do not yet understand. How does this look – what does it look like to wait fully on God in my life? How can I grow in the knowledge and practice of waiting on God?

These are things I am thinking about, and praying about – that the Lord would grow me, and cause me to wait on Him for all things.

5 Responses to Waiting on God

  1. Ben says:

    Hm, I don’t know about that. I don’t think that’s an accurate picture of how God intends the sanctification process to work.

  2. Lee says:

    Because Nathan didn’t quote the parts concerning what happens after the waiting? (I’m assuming that the “working out your salvation” part comes next, Nathan…)

  3. Ben says:

    Or monergism could be totally wrong. One of the two. :)

  4. Lee says:

    Talk about your false dichotomies ;-)

  5. cadawg says:

    I have been reading With Christ in the School of Prayer by Andrew Murray. Murray did argue for a strong God-focus in prayer and all aspects of the Christian life. Waiting to Murray certainly was not a passive exercise. It involved praying and seeking God through His Word in order to understand His will and be conformed to it by the work of the Spirit in one’s life.

Leave a Reply

