Grasping the Cross


“But God, being rich in mercy, because of his great love with which he loved us, even though we were dead in transgressions, made us alive together with Christ – by grace you are saved! – and he raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus, to demonstrate in the coming ages the surpassing wealth of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. For by grace you are saved through faith, and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God;” (Ephesians 2:4-8)

Father, what can be said in view of your amazing, rich mercy? How can I even begin to speak of your grace – for it is so vast! How little I think about and ponder what you have done, for I forget, I cringe at this thought, but I forget, that you saved me.

How prideful I am, for when I do good I boast in my heart – yet I have forgotten: I am only your slave, and even if I lived perfectly from now on, I would only be doing what my duty requires – there is no room for boasting. How foolish I am, thinking myself to be good – Oh Father, forgive me for my pride, my wicked pride – humble me before you. My day is filled with myself, and seeking out my own benefit. So little of my time is spent in plunging into the depths of your great mercy and love – so little have I thought deeply on the suffering of your Son.

May I never seek to justify myself, but always give praise and honor to you, my Savior who died for me, in my place, knowing the depth of my own sin. May I never take offense when someone speaks insults or huts me, but may I bow my face before you, never thinking that my position is too low.

Oh Jesus, my Savior, you deserve all praise and all honor, yet the praise I offer is so small. Lead me to grasp more deeply your cross, and cause me to love you more because of what I learn; that by your Spirit I might be moved to deeper worship, that my life would reflect the amazing fact that you lived, you died, and you rose that I would be forgiven to the glory and praise of my heavenly Father.

Keep me from sin, that no one would take offense at you because of my life, but rather, others would be drawn to you because of your gracious work on my heart, sanctifying me, making me pure and holy.

How far you have taken me in my walk with you – from the first day you called me until now. Thank you for the grace that I see manifest in my life, you are truly at work.

This is my prayer – come quickly Jesus.

In your name,
May it be so.

One Response to Grasping the Cross

  1. Lee says:

    Thanks for sharing your heart, Nathan.

    On forgetting – see my (second) post on memory.

Leave a Reply

